Youth Tour

Youth Tour

2020 Youth Tour contest is open

Six high school juniors have an opportunity to be among thousands of students from across the country to spend this summer traveling to Washington, D.C.

Entries are now being accepted for the 52nd Annual Youth Tour contest.

The contest is open only to high school juniors who live and attend school in Cuivre River Electric’s general service area, or who have Cuivre River electric service in their homes.

The 2020 essay theme is “My Favorite Cooperative Principle.” The deadline to enter is Friday, March 13.

Download an entry form

Download information sheet

Entries remain anonymous during preliminary judging by Cuivre River Elecric staff. The 12 top-scoring essays are selected as finalists and will attend the final competition scheduled for Wednesday, April 8. Finalists will take a cooperative knowledge quiz and make an oral presentation of their essay.

The top six finalists will be selected as Youth Tour delegates. The other six finalists will receive $500 scholarships.

This year’s National Youth Tour will take place June 19-25, 2020. The seven-day youth tour provides an action-filled week for high school students, offering them opportunities to learn firsthand what it is like to be involved in politics, leadership positions, community service and today’s pressing issues.

Missouri’s Youth Tour delegates will visit with representatives from their congressional districts and tour famous monuments, the Smithsonian Institution’s museums and Arlington National Cemetery.

Cuivre River Electric fully funds the participation of its delegates. There is no cost to students or families.

Teachers who support the Youth Tour program and submit at least 10 student entries receive a $50 classroom grant from CREC.

Since 1964, Cuivre River Elecric has sponsored over 200 Youth Tour delegates for visits to Washington, D.C. More than 53,000 high school students sponsored by the nation’s electric cooperatives have participated in the Youth Tour since the educational leadership program began.






What Is Youth Tour?

The Youth Tour provides high school juniors with a unique opportunity to learn about democracy and leadership in Washington, D.C. The goal of the Youth Tour is to foster students’ appreciation for the democratic form of government; educate students about the role of electric cooperatives in the national economy; expand their understanding of cooperatives as a business model; introduce students to the cooperative principles and understanding the value of rural electrification; expose students to the sights and sounds of our nation’s heritage; build students’ leadership skills so that they may make a difference in their communities; and reward students for academic achievement and community leadership.


Youth are the future. Impacting the lives of the youth of today is extremely important to the cooperative community. The mission of the Youth Tour sponsored by local electric cooperatives across the United States is built on the belief that textbooks and lectures alone are not enough to help students understand the democratic process and gain the skills necessary to become tomorrow's leaders. Rather, today's teenagers also need an opportunity to experience government first-hand by visiting the nation's capital, meeting their Representative and Senators and engaging in interactive workshops and discussion.


By educating our high school students and enhancing their self-worth, Cuivre River Electric Cooperative hopes to promote and inspire responsible and informed participation in the democratic process - in essence, ensuring a stronger future for everyone.